The verb license or grant license means to give permission (wiki).

I will go with an example of giving a license or permission to use your product, such as image, sound, video, art work. But the the concept is same in any aspect of giving permission.

I am not a lawyer, I am a business analyst who also has hobbies of doing photography and write a music (maybe write is a big word, considering that I don’t now what legato means and build a music on Garageband). I started understanding all around licensing while distributing my work (images and music).

Licenses for Photographers

This is what came up first when I did “photography license” search on Google

Licenses for Photographers: Start your business without getting sued! 

improvephotography.com/10933/license-to-be-a-photographer/ To know for certain whether or not a license is necessary to operate your photography business, you need to make two phone calls. The first is to your state licensing board, and the second is to your local city hall. Making these two quick calls will remove all doubt.

If licence is required for doing Photography Business. To me that means at least 10% of population in this planet suppose to have it, because they sell photographs all over the web. But let’s not go there, as I said I am not a lawyer.

More I am interested in giving a license and what type of license to give.

This guy very nicely explains what is the difference  between Royalty Free, Flat Fee and Rights-Manage Understanding different types of photo licensing. This what you need when you decide to sale your work.

But you may also what to give Creative Commons license instead of not giving license at all and keep a room for your work to disappear from being yours throughout the time. I am not talking about private pictures. This is more about your  work which you publish. That could be you work on G+, FB or other social media.

For sure respective companies will not use your pictures without your permission, which will mostly be written in their polices. But what about other’s ?

I just searched cat images on Google, filtered by labeled for reuse with modification. Choose one and followed to the page. By the way Google also warned me that the image may subject to copy-write. I end up on http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/ and downloaded this nice cat. According to the name of the website I can use it as my featured image or to sell it on my product package. One day, you,  the photographer will be proud that helped someone to make money with by using your work.

Creative Common 

https://creativecommons.org/

Most of my work licensed under Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0).

  • Adapt — remix, transform, and build upon the material for any purpose, even commercially.
  • The licensor cannot revoke these freedoms as long as you follow the license terms.

Under the following terms:

  • Attribution — You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use.No additional restrictions — You may not apply legal terms or technological measures that legally restrict others from doing anything the license permits.

Conclusion

Difference between Public and CC licenses is only 3-4 words. “image by Arman Ayva”

the critic by Arman Ayva on 500px.com

I will be proud if someone makes money using my image too.

Regards,

Arman Ayva

